FOOTBALL

A QUARTERFINAL: #5-SCARBOROUGH VS. #4-BANGOR

November 5, 2021

Sam Rumelhart passed for three touchdowns, leading the fifth-seeded Red Storm (5-3) to a Class A quarterfinal win over the fourth-seeded Rams (7-3) in Bangor.

Rumelhart completed 10 of 13 passes. He connected with Ryan Kelly for scores of 37 and 50 yards and threw a 21-yard TD pass to Brady Clough. Clough also caught a 5-yard scoring pass from Jayden Flaker, who added a 9-yard touchdown run. Charlie Murray rushed for 95 yards and a touchdown.

Scarborough will face top-seeded Thornton Academy in the semifinals.

SCARBOROUGH 40, BANGOR 14

BOXSCORE

SCARBOROUGH 40, BANGOR 14

1234F
Scarborough (5-3)71471240
Bangor (7-3)007714

First Quarter

  • S—Sam Rumelhart 37 pass to Ryan Kelly (Andrew Moore kick)

Second Quarter

  • S—Rumelhart 21 pass to Brady Clough (Moore kick)
  • S—Jayden Flaker 9 run (Moore kick)

Third Quarter

  • B—#16 29 pass to #87 (#59 kick)
  • S—Flaker 5 pass to Clough (Moore kick)

Fourth Quarter

  • S—Rumelhart 50 pass to Kelly (kick failed)
  • S—Charlie Murray 50 run (kick failed)
  • B—#25 2 run (#59 kick)

TEAM SCHEDULES

SCARBOROUGHBANGOR

Record: 5-4-0

Date Time W/L/T Game Details
Friday, 09/03/20217:00 PMWScarborough 40, South Portland 3Details
Friday, 09/10/20217:00 PMLBonny Eagle 20, Scarborough 6Details
Friday, 09/17/20217:00 PMLBangor 37, Scarborough 36Details
Friday, 09/24/20217:00 PMWScarborough 43, Edward Little 13Details
Friday, 10/01/20217:00 PMWScarborough 21, Cony 14
Friday, 10/08/20217:00 PMWScarborough 49, Sanford 13Details
Friday, 10/29/20217:00 PMLThornton Academy 51, Scarborough 0Details
Friday, 11/05/20217:00 PMWScarborough 40, Bangor 14Details
Saturday, 11/13/20211:00 PMLThornton Academy 28, Scarborough 12Details

Record: 7-3-0

Date Time W/L/T Game Details
Friday, 09/03/20217:00 PMWBangor 54, Brewer 13
Saturday, 09/11/20217:00 PMWBangor 42, Lewiston 6
Friday, 09/17/20217:00 PMWBangor 37, Scarborough 36Details
Saturday, 09/25/20216:00 PMLThornton Academy 84, Bangor 13Details
Friday, 10/01/20217:00 PMWBangor 55, Deering 0
Friday, 10/08/20217:00 PMWBangor 49, Edward Little 13
Friday, 10/15/20217:00 PMWBangor 49, Lewiston 19
Friday, 10/22/20217:00 PMWBangor 37, Bonny Eagle 30Details
Friday, 10/29/20217:00 PMLOxford Hills 49, Bangor 20Details
Friday, 11/05/20217:00 PMLScarborough 40, Bangor 14Details