Foxcroft Academy at Dirigo

DIRIGO 5, FOXCROFT ACADEMY 0

FIELD HOCKEY

The top-seeded Cougars (13-3) received all of the scoring they needed from scored two first-quarter goals, then their defense went to work and shut out the fifth-seeded Ponies (8-8) in a Class C North semifinal in Dixfield.

Dirigo, which has won eight straight games, will face No. 2 MCI (12-3-1) in the regional final Wednesday at Gardiner.

Grace Averill and Jayce Brophy scored in the first quarter to give the Cougars a 2-0 lead that held up until they added three more goals in the fourth. Kara Woods scored the first fourth-period goal, then Averil and Brophy each tallied their second of the game.

Lana Waite set up both of Brophy’s goals, and Averill, Grace Robbins and Emily Woods each contributed one assist.

Goalie Alivia Ellis stopped all fives shots she faced for the Cougars, whose defense notched its 10th shutout of the season and fifth in its last six games.

Foxcroft goalie Emma Bither finished with eight saves.

121OT2OTPC F
Foxcroft (8-8)00
Dirigo (13-3)20

STATISTICS

BOXSCORE
Goals—Dirigo, Grace Averill 2, Jayce Brophy 2, Kara Woods 1.
Assists—Dirigo, Lana Waite 2, Emily Woods 1, Grace Averill 1, Grace Robbins 1.
Shots on goal—Foxcroft Academy 5, Dirigo, 13.
Penalty corners—Foxcroft Academy 5, Dirigo 7.
Goalies (saves)—Foxcroft Academy, Emma Bither (8); Dirigo, Alivia Ellis (5).

ROSTERS

FOXCROFT ACADEMY ROSTER
Roster unavailable
DIRIGO ROSTER
Roster unavailable

TEAM SCHEDULES

FOXCROFT ACADEMYDIRIGO

Record: 8-8-0

Date Time W/L/T Game Details
Wednesday, 08/31/20224:00 PMLMCI 3, Foxcroft Academy 1Details
Friday, 09/02/20224:00 PMWFoxcroft Academy 3, Piscataquis 0
Tuesday, 09/06/20224:00 PMWFoxcroft Academy 6, Stearns/Schenck 0
Thursday, 09/08/20224:00 PMLOld Town 1, Foxcroft Academy 0
Monday, 09/12/20224:00 PMLDexter/Central 3, Foxcroft Academy 0
Wednesday, 09/14/20224:00 PMLLawrence 4, Foxcroft Academy 0Details
Friday, 09/16/20224:00 PMLDexter/Central 2, Foxcroft Academy 0
Tuesday, 09/20/20224:00 PMWFoxcroft Academy 2, Stearns/Schenck 1
Wednesday, 09/28/20224:00 PMLMCI 2, Foxcroft Academy 1, OT
Friday, 09/30/20224:00 PMLLawrence 4, Foxcroft Academy 0Details
Monday, 10/03/20226:00 AMWFoxcroft Academy 9, Mattanawcook Academy 0
Wednesday, 10/05/20226:00 PMWFoxcroft Academy 1, Old Town 0
Saturday, 10/08/202211:00 AMWFoxcroft Academy 3, Piscataquis 0
Wednesday, 10/12/20224:00 PMWFoxcroft Academy 2, Orono 0
Tuesday, 10/25/20222:00 PMWFoxcroft Academy 2, Spruce Mountain 1
Saturday, 10/29/202212:00 PMLDirigo 5, Foxcroft Academy 0Details

Record: 13-4-0

Date Time W/L/T Game Details
Wednesday, 08/31/20223:30 PMWDirigo 5, Winthrop 3Details
Wednesday, 09/07/20223:30 PMLLisbon 3, Dirigo 2Details
Friday, 09/09/20223:30 PMWDirigo 6, Oak Hill 0Details
Monday, 09/12/2022WDirigo 7, Telstar 0Details
Wednesday, 09/14/20223:30 PMWDirigo 6, Hall-Dale 0Details
Wednesday, 09/21/20227 PMWDirigo 6, Mountain Valley 0Details
Friday, 09/23/20223:30 PMLSpruce Mountain 2, Dirigo 1, 2OTDetails
Monday, 09/26/20223:30 PMLWinthrop 5, Dirigo 0Details
Tuesday, 09/27/20223:30 PMDirigo at Boothbay
Saturday, 10/01/202211:00 AMWDirigo 6, Lisbon 1Details
Monday, 10/03/20223:30 PMWDirigo 2, Oak Hill 0Details
Wednesday, 10/05/20223:30 PMWDirigo 1, Spruce Mountain 0Details
Thursday, 10/06/20227:00 PMWDirigo 5, Mountain Valley 0Details
Wednesday, 10/12/20223:30 PMWDirigo 9, Telstar 1Details
Thursday, 10/27/20223:30 PMWDirigo 8, Piscataquis 0Details
Saturday, 10/29/202212:00 PMWDirigo 5, Foxcroft Academy 0Details
Wednesday, 11/02/20223:00 PMLMCI 2, Dirigo 0Details