GIRLS' SOCCER

A SOUTH PRELIM: #9-PORTLAND VS. #8-SANFORD

October 22, 2022

Eliza Stein headed in a corner kick by Kendall Sniper, Lucy Tidd stopped a penalty kick in the second half, and the ninth-seeded Bulldogs (8-7) held on to beat the eighth-seeded Spartans (7-6-2) in a Class A South prelim in Sanford.

Sniper lofted a well-placed service in front of the goal and Stein popped it into the left corner under the crossbar 17:34 into the game.

Sanford was awarded a penalty kick with 15:23 remaining when Hailey Tarbox took a well-timed through ball from Ava Hudson into the box and was fouled. Hudson took the penalty, which Tidd stopped while on sliding on her knees.

Portland advances to face No. 1 Scarborough in the quarterfinals Tuesday night.

PORTLAND 1, SANFORD 0

121OT2OTPK F
Portland (8-7)101
Sanford (7-6-2)000

STATISTICS

BOXSCOREGOALS SUMMARY
Goals—Portland, Stein 1.
Assists—Portland, Sniper 1.
Goalies (saves)—Portland, (); Sanford, Tidd ().
1, 1, 17:34, P, Stein (Sniper).

ROSTERS

PORTLAND ROSTER
Roster unavailable
SANFORD ROSTER
Roster unavailable

TEAM SCHEDULES

PORTLANDSANFORD

Record: 8-8-0

Date Time W/L/T Game Details
Friday, 09/02/20227:00 PMLScarborough 8, Portland 1Details
Wednesday, 09/07/20224:30 PMLMarshwood 6, Portland 1
Thursday, 09/08/20225:30 PMLNoble 4, Portland 3Details
Saturday, 09/10/202210:00 AMWPortland 9, Biddeford 0Details
Thursday, 09/15/20225:15 PMLWindham 6, Portland 2Details
Tuesday, 09/20/20224:30 PMWPortland 8, Westbrook 2Details
Tuesday, 09/27/20225:00 PMWPortland 12, Massabesic 0Details
Wednesday, 09/28/20226:15 PMWPortland 2, South Portland 1Details
Saturday, 10/01/202210:00 AMWPortland 4, Bonny Eagle 0Details
Monday, 10/03/20224:00 PMWPortland 3, Kennebunk 0Details
Thursday, 10/06/20225:30 PMLGorham 3, Portland 0Details
Monday, 10/10/202212:00 PMLFalmouth 3, Portland 0Details
Monday, 10/17/20223:30 PMWPortland 3, Cheverus 1Details
Tuesday, 10/18/20226:30 PMLThornton Academy 2, Portland 0Details
Saturday, 10/22/202210:00 AMWPortland 1, Sanford 0Details
Tuesday, 10/25/20227:00 PMLScarborough 4, Portland 0Details

Record: 7-6-2

Date Time W/L/T Game Details
Tuesday, 09/06/20226:30 PMWSanford 6, Deering 0Details
Thursday, 09/08/20226:30 PMWSanford 3, Falmouth 2
Saturday, 09/10/202212:00 PMLScarborough 7, Sanford 0Details
Tuesday, 09/13/20226:30 PMWSanford 2, South Portland 1, 2OTDetails
Friday, 09/16/20226:30 PMWSanford 10, Westbrook 0Details
Tuesday, 09/20/20226:30 PMTSanford 0, Thornton Academy 0, OTDetails
Monday, 09/26/20226:00 PMWSanford 2, Bonny Eagle 0Details
Tuesday, 09/27/20226:30 PMLWindham 3, Sanford 2, OTDetails
Thursday, 09/29/20225:00 PMWSanford 5, Biddeford 0Details
Tuesday, 10/04/20226:30 PMLMarshwood 3, Sanford 2Details
Saturday, 10/08/202210:00 AMLGorham 3, Sanford 0Details
Wednesday, 10/12/20226:30 PMLCheverus 1, Sanford 0Details
Friday, 10/14/20226:30 PMWSanford 6, Massabesic 1Details
Tuesday, 10/18/20223:30 PMTSanford 0, Kennebunk 0, 2OTDetails
Saturday, 10/22/202210:00 AMLPortland 1, Sanford 0Details