Massabesic at Portland/Deering

MASSABESIC 4, PORTLAND/DEERING 1

FIELD HOCKEY

Lucy Johnson scored her state record-setting 112th career goal as top-ranked Cheverus advanced to the Class A South field hockey semifinals with a 3-0 victory Wednesday over eighth-seeded Massabesic in Portland.

The Stags (15-0) will play Scarborough in Saturday’s semifinals.

After a scoreless first half, Cheverus broke through when Lillian Magda scored in early in the third quarter. Later in the quarter, Magda set up freshman Sydney Brunelle for a 2-0 lead.

The Stags then iced it when Johnson put in a rebound with 6:45 to play.

Massabesic (8-7-1) got 16 saves from Lydia Suhy.

121OT2OTPC F
Massabesic (3-1)21
Portland/Deering (1-5)01

STATISTICS

BOXSCORE

ROSTERS

MASSABESIC ROSTER
Anderson, Charlize
Curtis, Chelsea
Daigle, Candice
Darling, Natalie
DesRochers, Lydia
Donovan, Ella
Duncan, Sydney
Duquette, Desiree
Gerrish, Ava
Holbrook, Zoye
Jacobsen, Cassidy
Libby, Julianna
McAvoy, Mazzie
Michaud, Selene
Nason, Mackenzie
Otis, Keri
Rogers, Eliza
Stephenson, Paige
Suhy, Lydia
Thibodeau, Gianna
Thyng, Savannah
PORTLAND/DEERING ROSTER
Bailey, Solera
Black, Avery
Bower, Erin
Chase, Ruby
Dunn, Ainsley
Harrigan, Gabriella
Hawkes, Hannah
Johnson, Fiona
Philbrook, Josslyn
Rohde, Caitlin
Sigfridson, Leah
Susen, Lucy
Vigue, Kaitlyn
Walsh, Emma
Winship, Erin
Zager, Maya

TEAM SCHEDULES

MASSABESICPORTLAND/DEERING

Record: 8-7-1

Date Time W/L/T Game Details
Tuesday, 09/05/20234:00 PMLGorham 7, Massabesic 0Details
Thursday, 09/07/20234:00 PMWMassabesic 3, Kennebunk 0
Monday, 09/11/20234:00 PMWMassabesic 4, Marshwood 2
Wednesday, 09/20/20234:00 PMWMassabesic 4, Portland/Deering 1Details
Thursday, 09/21/20234:00 PMLCheverus 8, Massabesic 0Details
Monday, 09/25/20234:00 PMWMassabesic 1, Scarborough 0
Wednesday, 09/27/20234:00 PMWMassabesic 3, Windham 1
Friday, 09/29/20236:30 PMLFalmouth 3, Massabesic 0Details
Monday, 10/02/202311:00 AMTMassabesic 2, Bonny Eagle 2, 2OT
Tuesday, 10/03/20234:00 PMWMassabesic 5, South Portland/Westbrook 2Details
Thursday, 10/05/20236:00 PMLSanford 2, Massabesic 1Details
Monday, 10/09/20233:00 PMWMassabesic 3, Kennebunk 0
Friday, 10/13/20234:30 PMLBiddeford 3, Massabesic 0Details
Tuesday, 10/17/20237:00 PMLNoble 1, Massabesic 0
Friday, 10/20/20233:00 PMWMassabesic 2, Marshwood 0
Wednesday, 10/25/20233:00 PMLCheverus 3, Massabesic 0Details

Record: 4-10-0

Date Time W/L/T Game Details
Wednesday, 09/06/20234:00 PMLBonny Eagle 1, Portland/Deering 0Details
Thursday, 09/07/20234:00 PMLSouth Portland/Westbrook 2, Portland/Deering 0Details
Monday, 09/11/20237:30 PMWPortland/Deering 3, Thornton Academy 2
Thursday, 09/14/20234:00 PMLGorham 12, Portland/Deering 0Details
Friday, 09/15/20234:00 PMLMarshwood 1, Portland/Deering 0Details
Wednesday, 09/20/20234:00 PMLMassabesic 4, Portland/Deering 1Details
Wednesday, 09/27/20234:00 PMWPortland/Deering 1, Kennebunk 0Details
Thursday, 09/28/20234:00 PMLNoble 4, Portland/Deering 2
Tuesday, 10/03/20234:00 PMWPortland/Deering 1, Bonny Eagle 0
Friday, 10/06/20234:00 PMLFalmouth 7, Portland/Deering 0Details
Tuesday, 10/10/20236:00 PMLSanford 5, Portland/Deering 0Details
Wednesday, 10/11/20234:00 PMLSouth Portland/Westbrook 2, Portland/Deering 1
Friday, 10/13/20236:00 PMWPortland/Deering 3, Kennebunk 0
Saturday, 10/14/202311:00 AMLWindham 7, Portland/Deering 1Details