FOOTBALL

WELLS AT FREEPORT

September 17, 2022

VISITOR
HOME
QUARTER
F
WELLS
35
FREEPORT
28

Dominic Buxton rushed for the go-ahead touchdown early in the third quarter, Conner Whitten added two scoring runs, and Wells stopped a last-minute drive by Freeport to secure a 35-28 football win Saturday night in Freeport.

Buxton’s 9-yard TD run gave Wells (3-0) a 21-14 lead. Sam DeMauro made it 28-14 when he intercepted a tipped pass and returned it 7 yards for a touchdown.

After Jordan Knighton’s second TD run for Freeport (2-1) cut the margin to 28-21, Griffin Brickett answered with a 3-yard touchdown run in the fourth.

Knighton’s first touchdown was an 80-yard run at the end of the first half that tied the game at 14-14.
Freeport also scored on a 21-yard pass from Aidan Heath to Nick White in the first quarter and a 10-yard run by Cooper DeLois in the fourth.

BOXSCORE

WELLS 35, FREEPORT 28

1234F
Wells (3-0)6814735
Freeport (2-1)687728

First Quarter

  • F—White 21 pass from Heath (PAT failed)
  • W—Whitten 10 run (rush failed)

Second Quarter

  • W—Whitten 3 run (Brickett rush)
  • F—Knighton 80 run (White rush)

Third Quarter

  • W—Buxton 9 run (kick good)
  • W—DeMauro 7 interception return (kick good)
  • F—Knighton 2 run (kick good)

Fourth Quarter

  • W—Brickett 3 run (kick good)
  • F—DeLois 10 run (kick good)

TEAM SCHEDULES

WELLSFREEPORT

Record: 8-3-0

Date Time W/L/T Game Details
Saturday, 09/02/202312:30 PMWWells 31, Oak Hill 0Details
Saturday, 09/09/20237:00 PMLYork 32, Wells 14
Saturday, 09/16/20237:00 PMWWells 41, Winthrop/Monmouth/Hall-Dale 0Details
Friday, 09/22/20237:00 PMLCheverus 26, Wells 20
Friday, 09/29/20237:00 PMWWells 32, Poland 6Details
Friday, 10/06/20237:00 PMWWells 41, Lisbon 6
Friday, 10/13/20237:00 PMWWells 28, Cape Elizabeth 14
Friday, 10/20/20237:00 PMLFryeburg Academy 28, Wells 7Details
Saturday, 11/04/20231:00 PMWWells 42, Freeport 7Details
Friday, 11/10/20237:00 PMWWells 35, Winthrop/Monmouth/Hall-Dale 6Details
Saturday, 11/18/20232:30 PMWWells 22, Foxcroft Academy 21Details

Record: 3-7-0

Date Time W/L/T Game Details
Saturday, 09/02/202312:00 PMWFreeport 39, Winthrop/Monmouth/Hall-Dale 33Details
Saturday, 09/09/20236:00 PMWFreeport 28, Lisbon 16
Monday, 09/18/20237:00 PMLJohn Bapst 27, Freeport 20Details
Friday, 09/22/20236:00 PMLPoland 22, Freeport 2Details
Saturday, 09/30/202312:30 PMLOak Hill 24, Freeport 16
Friday, 10/06/20236:00 PMLOceanside 46, Freeport 0
Friday, 10/13/20236:00 PMLFoxcroft Academy 56, Freeport 6Details
Friday, 10/20/20236:00 PMLCape Elizabeth 6, Freeport 3Details
Tuesday, 10/31/20236:00 PMWFreeport 32, Poland 14
Saturday, 11/04/20231:00 PMLWells 42, Freeport 7Details